Dharma Lessons - Basics

Dharma by the Numbers

Four Noble Truths

  1. Suffering exists in all of life.
  2. Suffering has causes - desires, ignorance, attachments
  3. Suffering can be extinguished - eliminate the causes
  4. In order to do this follow The Noble Eightfold path or middle way.
Eight Fold Path
  1. Right views/ ideas/ understanding
  2. Right aspirations/ mindedness/resolution
  3. Right speech
  4. Right conduct/ behavior/ action
  5. Right livelihood/ vocation/ living
  6. Right effort
  7. Right mindfulness/ attentiveness
  8. Right concentration/ enlightenment
Three Jewels.
  1. Buddha
  2. Dharma (teachings)
  3. Sangha (community of fellow believers)
Three Refuges
  1. I take refuge in the Buddha, the one who shows me the way in this life.
  2. I take refuge in the Dharma,the way of understanding and love.
  3. I take refuge in the Sangha, the community that lives in harmony and awareness.
This version of refuges from Living Buddha, Living Christ by Thich Naht Hahn

Five Precepts

  1. Respect Life
  2. Refrain from taking what is not given.
  3. Treat sexuality as sacred.
  4. Speak truthfully, avoid telling falsehoods.
  5. Respect your own body,do not use intoxicants of any kind.
© 1996-2013 Family Dharma Connections